ITIL Qualifications

ITIL has a comprehensive qualifications scheme to support its guidance, which includes four levels: Foundation, Intermediate, Expert and Master. These different qualifications cover the ITIL framework in increasing depth and enable individuals and organizations to effectively adopt ITIL by ensuring that they have the relevant knowledge, skills and techniques.

Foundation Level – (Earn 2 Credits)

The purpose of the ITIL Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is to certify that you have gained knowledge of the ITIL terminology, structure and basic concepts and have comprehended the core principles of ITIL practices for Service Management.

After completing the ITIL foundation course and exam, you will have gained knowledge and understanding in the following areas:

  • Service management as a practice
  • The ITIL service lifecycle
  • Generic concepts and definitions
  • Key principles and models
  • Selected processes
  • Selected functions
  • Selected roles
  • Technology and architecture
  • Competence and training

Intermediate Level – (Earn Up To 31 Credits)

ITIL Intermediate level has a modular structure with each module holding a different focus. You can take as few or as many Intermediate certificates as you require, to suit your needs. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation level, and is an industry-recognized certification.

There are two streams in the Intermediate level, the Service Lifecycle Stream (5 Modules) and the Service Capability Stream (4 Modules)

Service Lifecycle Stream (3 Credits Each) Service Capability Stream (4 Credits Each)
Service Strategy (SS) Operational Support and Analysis (OS&A)
Service Design (SD) Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)
Service Transition (ST) Release, Control and Validation (RC&V)
Service Operation (SO) Planning, Protection and Optimization (PP&O)
Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

MALC | Managing Across the Lifecycle – (Earn 5 Credits)

The intent of the MALC qualification is to give candidates the skills to support an organisation’s service delivery by bridging the service lifecycle stages. The qualification demonstrates that candidates have learned the value of one combined service management practice as opposed to separate subject areas. ITIL processes and practices, as learnt from the lifecycle and capability streams of the intermediate certificates, are put into a context of delivering this value.

The learning outcomes are intended to bring a candidate from ITIL content knowledge to ITIL content application and integration knowledge, and provide skills that can be used in the workplace in a tangible way.

ITIL Expert – (Requires ITIL Foundation, Min 15 Intermediate Credits & MALC)

The ITIL Expert level qualification is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL Scheme in its entirety. The certificate is awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL qualifications and have achieved a well rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices.

This qualification will benefit you in both your personal and professional development, by aiding career advancement and progress within the IT Service Management field. You also need to achieve the ITIL Expert level if you want to progress to the ITIL Master Level, which is the highest and final qualification within the ITIL scheme.

There are many possible combinations of modules from the ITIL framework available to those wishing to attain the ITIL Expert level, but there are some key requirements:

  • All candidates must hold the ITIL Foundation certificate or a Bridge qualification equivalent
  • Candidates must have earned a minimum total of 17 credits from the Foundation & Intermediate levels.
  • The Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module must then be taken and passed to achieve a total of 22 credits, which is the minimum required for ITIL Expert level.

Once you have successfully completed all ITIL modules required and have earned sufficient credits, you will have achieved a balanced knowledge across the full ITIL service lifecycle and can be awarded the ITIL Expert certificate.

While candidates can earn 17 credits through various learning paths leveraging any combination of the Foundation and Intermediate courses, the experience of trainers worldwide has shown that students wishing to pursue the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module benefit from taking the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) and Service Strategy (SS) modules from the ITIL Intermediate Level as part of their learning path.

ITIL Master – (Requires ITIL Expert)

The ITIL Master qualification validates your ability to apply the principles, methods and techniques from ITIL in the workplace.

To achieve the ITIL Master Qualification, you must be able to explain and justify how you have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods and techniques from ITIL and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.

Every ITIL Master candidate will select a different, personal range of experiences, so there is no fixed syllabus for this qualification. There is also no prescribed training course since the theory being tested will vary depending on the nature of the situation each candidate will choose.

To be eligible for the ITIL Master Qualification, you must have reached the ITIL Expert level and have worked in IT service management for at least five years in leadership, managerial, or higher management advisory levels. In order to successfully qualify for the ITIL Expert level, you must ensure you have extensive practical ‘hands-on’ ITIL experience and can demonstrate active involvement in implementation of the practices.

Live Chat